May Recap-Trip to LA!

This month has been extremely busy to say the least! It started off with a trip to LA for a quick girls trip with my best friend from childhood, Heather. Heather is an advertising account director (aka total #GirlBoss) living in Portland Oregon. As an account director, she frequently travels to shoots and coordinates those tear-jerking, or witty commercials you see on YouTube and TV (if you still watch TV commercials on TV). Her most recent work, β€˜Ripple’ even brought her to Ireland to make sure the authenticity of the story was captured-they take their golf very seriously πŸ˜‰ Her ability to get things done and help us to have fun, never ceases to amaze me, which is why I knew I didn’t really need an itinerary to go to LA, and moreover, why I asked her to be one of my bridesmaids.

Here are my favorite highlights from the weekend. On Saturday morning, Heather took me to Soul Cycle SAMO in Santa Monica- just a short few miles from our adorable studio apartment on Venice Bach. Never been to Soul Cycle? Be careful, you are in for a music-pumping, calorie-torching, highly addictive spin class that will have you sweating more than you ever have in your life. I’m not joking. It was a truly amazing experience and I couldn’t have loved it more! Call in for your first class to get $10 off and free shoes with sign-up. Tag me @FitGirlMechanic and tell me how it is! I’ll write about my experience at Beyond Pedaling in Dallas soon to keep you updated on Spin Classes!

 

Soul Cycle Class

After Soul Cycle, we refueled at a local diner where I tried the breakfast quinoa bowl-amazing! Then we ventured out to the Promenade and did some shopping (where I found the ‘wear-every-day’ white sweater on my Insta, visited the new Nike Flagship store, and of course headed out to the beach to catch some rays in the afternoon. I enjoyed frolicking around in my ShopSaltWaterGirl Bikini! Such a fun and curve-hugging suit!
SaltWater Girl LA Bikini
We had an early dinner at a restaurant called Gjelina I highly recommend it! The flatbread pizzas are to die for, and their salads and side veggies are savory. A fast, inexpensive, and flavorful meal will keep your wallet happy and your belly full. Share small plates, or a flatbread-and you’ll be good to go!

gjelina

Sunday morning we slept in and took a long walk down Venice Beach to visit the vendors and obviously get matching Flash-Tatoos. We ate brunch at The Firehouse in Venice Beach, while we had a β€˜kickoff’ meeting for the next year of my wedding nuptials.Β  Talk about having a project manager as one of your bridesmaids! Heather will know if you like red or white wine, what your dog’s name is, what your career is, and how you met the bride and groom. No pressure girlfriend, I also expect you to know how we all take our coffee when we’re all hung-over the morning after my bachelorette party. I don’t know what I would do without her. It was a fast weekend, but much needed R&R away from the busy pace of our lives. Thanks for this trip girlfriend! I am so excited for the next year to come!

xoxo, Ari

Leave a Reply

